A Season of Giving

There are more Christmas lights this year than I remember in years past. There are more people buying Christmas decorations and Christmas gifts than I have seen in recent years. People are talking about these differences and are giving COVID the credit. Perhaps it is credit well deserved. Last year was certainly a different holiday season.  It is quite possible that this Christmas will be larger than usual, and the reason is, at least in part, due to us being somewhat in hibernation last Christmas.

It should be noted that for some people, this Christmas will not include more monetary gifts, due to financial challenges. We should not forget that even while some people will do more this year, and can afford to, this is not the reality for some others. But giving is not just monetary. There are many ways to give of ourselves without spending money.

But let’s think about tangible gifts for a moment. Some people do not want tangible gifts, that is not their love language. For others, their love language is receiving gifts, and this has nothing to do with them being selfish. It is how they feel valued by others, and this also has nothing to do with the cost of the gift. It is more about the thought that goes into the gift selection, that the other individual cares enough to think through who the person is and what he/she will enjoy. The person whose love language is receiving gifts also loves to give gifts to others, for it is how the person shows love for others.

Most likely you are aware of the “5 Love Languages, ” a philosophy developed many years ago by Gary Chapman. There are five love languages. Receiving Gifts, Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch are the five love languages. In upcoming posts, I will discuss each of the love languages. For now, since it is the season of giving, the love language in focus is “Receiving Gifts.”

Even if your love language is not “Receiving Gifts,” it is important for you to think about those who you love and determine if “Receiving Gifts” is their love language, and act accordingly. Think about what is important to them, and find a gift, regardless of the cost, that is representative of that. Even if doing so makes no sense to you. It will make perfect sense to the one you love.

After all, it is the season of giving. And I will reiterate that gifts are not just tangible gifts. But giving a tangible gift to the one whose love language is “Receiving Gifts” is one way to show your love. Granted, it is not the only way to show your love, but it is an important way.

About Patti Fralix

Patti Fralix inspires positive change in work, life, and family through Speaking, Consulting, and Coaching in three specialty areas: Leadership, Managing Differences, and Customer Service. Her leadership firm, The Fralix Group, Inc., has been helping clients achieve practical and tangible results for twenty-two years.
This entry was posted in gratitude, love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I Would Love To Know Your Thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s